Seven Twitter Etiquette Tips

With the transformation of social interaction through the emergence of new communications platforms such as Facebook and Twitter, comes an entirely new set of etiquette and manners.

While some of what is listed below is just plain courtesy, others are indicative of the new platform itself.

Whether you are looking to utilize Twitter for personal or professional purposes, knowing these tips and being aware of these faux pas are important.

1). Tweet TimingTiming tweets is important for several reasons. Tweeting too little implies that you are not engaged and causes potential followers to overlook you. Tweeting too much (as in more than once an hour) may overwhelm some of your followers causing them to un-follow you. As you may discover, no one wants to login to their account to find his or her feed dominated by a single tweeter.

2).  Use Common Sense – This may sound obvious, but it is sadly surprising that even the famous forget it (Weinergate anyone?) Remember that like Facebook, Twitter is a public platform and you shouldn’t tweet what you don’t want others to know or see. This is especially important if Twitter is being used for a professional account. Let’s not even get into how many Twitter crises cases have ruined the reputation of companies or cost people their jobs.

Also keep in mind that others may find what you find amusing and funny are rude and offensive. What is rude in real life is rude on Twitter. Make sure there is a distinction between a personal and professional account.

3). Tweet Button – Using a tweet button to promote articles found on your blog, website or whatnot can be a great promotion and publicity tool. However, if you want people to share your information, make it easy for them. This means featuring the button in an easy, accessible location such as the top or side of the article near the headline. Don’t make your reader go for a wild goose chase and search for it.

Also, make sure you know what the tweet text reads. I have clicked on Tweet buttons which display just a nondescript link or that significantly exceed the 140 character limit. Be conscience of these items or chances are you will not get retweeted.

4). Give Credit – Be considerate and give your sources the credit they deserve. This means if you tweet an article from your favorite blog or website, say it. There are several ways this can be done. Hashtag your subject or brand you are tweeting about or state the article title “via” @thesource. If all else fails, just state the source or author it came from with a dash.

5). Be Useful – Don’t use Twitter to just self-promote shamelessly. Share info and add value. Give people a reason to want to follow you. It is helpful to mention your mission or Twitter undertaking in the bio section of your profile so that people have an idea about your twitter mission.

6). Respond to your followers  – Be engaged and stay engaged. This means, if someone tweets at you. Tweet back. Ask questions. Give opinions. This may be a challenge for individuals who are not familiar with Twitter and just what exactly a #hashtag is or how to “tweet” @somebody. This is just the reason it is important to familiarize yourself with Twitter and its features before diving in.

7). Complete your Profile – Having a completed profile shows that you are not a spammer and that there is a reason for people to want to follow you. As mentioned, you can state in your bio your Twitter purpose. Also, having a profile picture allows people to have something to identify with.

I have tired to cover most basics, but am happy to hear any more basics I may have missed or insight. Please share any other Twitter tips, tricks or suggestions you have come across in your Twitter experience.

About Cassidy Davis

Social media enthusiast, PR graduate and ballet dancer. Please visit my "About Me" for more information.
This entry was posted in PR/Communications, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Seven Twitter Etiquette Tips

  1. khaled says:

    I think this one is the most important “Give Credit”

    • Giving credit is very important. Sometimes I feel this becomes overlooked as people want to stay within the 140 character limit, are lazy or just don’t care, but it is courtesy in which one should “treat others how they would like to be treated”.

  2. How long have you been blogging for?

  3. Pingback: How to handle diners' complaints (Social media tips for restaurants) | Follow Me Foodie

  4. Right here is the perfect website for anybody who wants to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been discussed for
    years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

  5. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how can i subscribe for a weblog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal.

    I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast offered brilliant transparent idea

  6. Richie says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?

    Superb work!

  7. Margareta says:

    I think the admin of this web site is in fact working hard foor his web site, because here every stuff is quality based
    stuff.

  8. I feel that is one of the so much vital info for me. And
    i am glad studying your article. But want
    to commentary oon some normal issues, The website taste is great,
    the articles is in point of fact great : D. Excellent job, cheers

  9. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My website addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome
    blog by the way!

    • Thank you very much for the compliment! Please feel free to contact me via the ‘Contact Me’ tab and I would be happy to discuss potential collaboration opportunities.

  10. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  11. Aracely says:

    Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my
    iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here
    and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  12. Excellent post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more
    on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little
    bit further. Kudos!

  13. Stephany says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and
    definitely will come back in the future. I want to encourage
    you continue your great writing, have a nice day!

Leave a comment